The Here and Now

Can’t quite put my finger on it, but for some reason the feel of summer vacation hasn’t fully kicked in for me yet. I’ll never be a late sleeper, so yes I’m still waking at my usual time, but this comes as no surprise. In fact, there is something quite wonderful about waking up early and knowing you don’t have to get up if you don’t want to. Alas, it isn’t my morning mental alarm clock that fuels this feeling. The weather has been absolutely perfect in my neck of the woods ever since the school year ended. It’s exactly what this summergirl prefers…sunny and hot. If you’ve read my previous posts, you know that right about now I’m defrosted and in my element. I am a summer girl through and through. And yet, something still feels amiss…

I have been able to exercise much more frequently/consistently now that my days are free. I am spending more time  with my daughters and my husband. And yet, that summer spirit eludes me…

The garden that my father so generously planted in my back yard is lush and flourishing, where last year’s harvest left much to be desired. It brings me great peace and pride to reap the fruits of our labor. And yet…

As I reflect on this piece, I’m admittedly embarrassed. It seems that much of my precious summer time is being wasted. Perhaps instead of worrying about the number of remaining free days, I should just be grateful for each one. Live each day in the moment, instead of looking at the days ahead. Start fully embracing today, and stop thinking about the time when it will come to an end.  I truly am grateful for the place I’m at- I just needed reminding.

Leave a Reply

